Thought Bubble: A beautiful sunny afternoon

by danicacheetham

“It’s not how good you are, it’s how good you want to be.”

I like this, it’s quite a humbling thought. I mean we are all good at something right?.

I don’t know about you but I want to change and grow and explore and learn and create a world of excitement and adventure. To do the things that I love to do and probably some thing’s that I don’t love as well.

I’ve never been the kid who excelled academically, was a natural at sport or could make people laugh. I was very shy growing up and scared of what might happen if I were to try something new. But at the same time I had so much curiosity inside me. I wanted to take risks and live in a way that was unexpected and nobody could predict what I was going to do next. In fact that also includes me, I even surprise myself sometimes.

Part of stepping out of your comfort zone is not knowing where you might end up. It’s scary, believe me. As soon as I moved countries I suddenly stopped as thought “what the hell am I doing?!” But it was too late to turn back. So now I’m forced to adjust to living outside my comfort zone, at least until I get used to it.

Making such a huge change to my life didn’t come easily, but that burning questions of “what if?” Stirred up my curiosity and forced me to do something different. I don’t want to be “normal”, what is normal anyway? I want to ask questions about life, hard questions, silly questions, unnecessary  questions, questions out of curiosity. I don’t necessarily need the answers. Questions are the beginning of finding an answer but answers can’t exist without questions.

For me as a 20 year old I’ve gotten to the point where I can think for myself, make my own decisions and live how I want to live. I’ve asked a lot of questions and I’ve been given a lot of answers. Some stick with me, some don’t. There is a certain way that we are expected to live. Where I come from you go to school, decide what you want to be, you study, find a job and be the best at what you do. Everyone figures out their own way of doing things. I’m still trying to decide on what I want to do with my life. So in the grand scheme of things I’m a little behind. Most people just figure out what they’re good at and go from there But for me “it’s not how good you are, it’s how good you want to be.” This is the title of a book written by Paul Arden.

I want to live dangerously and take risks. I know I’ll fail more times then I will succeed but I will get back up, dust myself off and continue to strive for excellence rather then settling for mediocrity. I have dreams and aspirations, and at the moment they all seem impossible. But I know that in order to achieve the unachievable I need to aim beyond my capabilities. I’m scared about why I’m here in another country and what I’m doing but a I wise friend once told me one of the most important things to remember in life is to do it scared…

So here’s to life, and a life worth living.

Danica

PS. If you can't solve a problem it's because you're playing by the rules.

 

